​​ Vermilion County Farm Bureau
  Serving Vermilion County Agriculture Since 1918

Meet our Ag Literacy Coordinator 

Chris Jaruseski Named

AITC Teacher of the Year

Chris Jaruseski, kindergarten teacher at Mark Denman Elementary in Danville, received the 2019 Ag in the Classroom Teacher of the Year Award. Chris enjoys hatching chicks in her classroom every spring. She uses the activity to help her students develop their writing skills by writing about the eggs and chicks.
She also took her students to Fair Oaks Farms to see the animals and pick apples. They later made applesauce from those apples in their classroom, connecting the farm to the food they eat.
  She's shown receiving her award from Ag Literacy Coordinator Thea Gernand (right).

Previous AITC Teachers of the Year
2018 - Sue Heidle, Danville Lutheran School, Danville

2017 - Michelle Lawhorn, Mark Denman Elem, Danville

2016 - Mandy Mourer, Northest Magnet Elem, Danville

2015 - Lisa Witsman, Judith Giacoma Elementary, Westville
2014 - Kathy Carmody, East Park Elementary, Danville
2013 - Lisa Unzicker, Northeast Magnet Elem, Danville
2012 - Diana Pratt, Danville Lutheran School, Danville
2011 - Carol Finley, Bismarck-Henning Elem, Bismarck
2010 - Kammie Richter, Oakwood Jr High, Oakwood

Ag in the Classroom is a one of the biggest programs conducted by

Vermilion County Farm Bureau.

Through Ag in the Classroom, teachers have access to free materials, lesson plans, classroom presentations and access to thematic learning kits.

Any classroom in Vermilion County can reserve one of these kits to let your students see how chicks or butterflies come to life.  

Note:  Your class can reserve only one kit - either an incubator or a pollinator kit.

There are two check-out periods for each kit:

Pollinator Kits - September 8 thru October 9 or April 19 thru May 14

Incubators - February 22 thru March 25 or April 5 thru May 7

Vermilion County

Farm Bureau is

pleased to announce

that Thea Gernand

has started as Ag

Literacy Coordinator

in Vermilion County.

She is a native of the

county, and went to

Illinois State. She and

her husband Luke live on their farm east of Potomac.

She's ready to hit the ground running this fall helping students in Vermilion County learn more about farming and where their food comes from.

TEACHERS - Sign up here to reserve your Chick Incubator or Pollinator Kit.